Sligo Library and County Museum (co-ordinates 54.27257 -8.47275) are located together, with the library being housed in a former Presbyterian Church, designed and built by architects Lanyon, Lynn and Lanyon in 1851.
This small Gothic Revival Church was converted in 1954 into the Sligo Town Library.
The Manse, situated beside the Library, was built in 1867, and was converted into the Sligo County Museum (admission free) in 1955.
Inspired by Nora Niland librarian at the time, the Sligo County Museum contains a fascinating collection of exhibits detailing Sligo‘s rich stone-age history, including a large firkin of 100-year-old bog butter.
The Yeats Room here is full of manuscripts, photographs, letters and newspaper cuttings associated with the local poet William Butler Yeats including a copy of his 1923 Nobel Prize winning medal and a complete collection of his poems from 1889 to 1936.
There is also a display of artefacts and memorabilia associated with Countess Constance Markievicz and her sister Eva Gore-Booth.